Chris Tilton's Sports Archive

Return to: Sports Homepage

Return to: Sports Archive Home



South - VV are Winners at Madison
J. C. Tilton

Friday night was a great night for a track meet. The forecast was for a chance of showers but mother nature held off and it was a great evening to be outdoors. Madison is known as a fast track and some good times were posted. Norman Young of Northridge tied a meet record with a 11.0 100m dash. Northridge also beat the 4X100m relay record. Jesse Simpson and JT Stone of TVS continued their domination in the throwing events - going 1-2 in both the discus and the shot. South Assistant Coach Ken Delong remarked that although he has coached several throwers that have thrown the shot 50', he never had this happen at the same meet until Stone and Simpson both did it at Eaton's Invitational. He is expecting both athletes to do well in the districts and on up. Jennifer McWhinney of National Trail had a trifecta winning both hurdle events and the 200m dash.

Other noteworthy first place finishes were South's girls 4X800m relay team, VV boys 4X800m relay team, Jake Eby of VV won the 110m hurdles, Molly Kroger of VV won the 400m dash, Mitch Westwood of VV won the 800m run, VV girls 4X400m relay team, Jessie Rowland of VV won both the discus and the shot. Emily Amburgey of Shawnee won the high jump. Hallie Dunn of VV won the girls pole vault. Rex Pitsinger of Valley View won the boys pole vault, Mary Clark of VV won the triple jump.

The South boys won the their part of the invitational with 94.5 points, other local teams: VV 2nd 86, 7th TC-North 41.50, 11th PS 11. The Valley View girls won theirs with a respectable 125.3 points. Other teams: Twin Valley South 4th 54.50,PS 6th 45, TC-North 12th 11.83

South girls coach Mabry was asked about his team, “We had some solid performances, we were trying to work on some things for league and districts. Two of our relays ran their best times so far this year - 4X100 & 4X200m relays. The 4X800 team (Jennifer and Elizabeth Bambeck, Katie Glander, Stacy Robbins) won tonight, it was not their best time, but it was good enough to win. Our second shotputter, Tabitha Neis, placed tonight with a personal best.

South Boys coach Farenholtz was asked about the win, “It was the best team effort that we've had all season - we scored in a lot of events. Ben Anspaugh had his best night by far with a 51 flat in the 400m run. Joe Maleski continues to do great things with a 11.1 100m dash, and 22.9 in the 200m. Steve Taulbee improved his times tonight and Jared Krickenbarger in the triple jump and pole vault had a good night. The shot and discus with JT Stone and Jesse Simpson scored us 36 points tonight. It was just a great team effort.”

Looking ahead Coach Farenholtz noted that Arcanum is going to be the team to beat at the CCC league meet. They won the TVS invitational and it is going to take another great effort to compete with them.

Other Finishers - 100m hurdles: 4th Emily Amburgey PS 17.30, 5th Rachel Brooks TCN 17.40. Boys 110m hurdles: 5th Scott Leedy TVS 17.9. 100m dash 2nd Mary Clark VV 13.2, 6th Ashley Groff TVS 13.8. 100m dash boys 2nd Joe Maleski TVS 11.1. Girls 1600m run 5th Sarah Holland VV 6:16.9. boys 1600m run: 2nd Jake Kasperski VV 4:44.5. 5th Steve Taulbee TVS 4:56.8

Boys 400m run: 2nd Ben Anspaugh TVS 51.0, 4th Mitch Howard VV 54.2. girls 300m hurdles 4th Mary Clark VV 51.2. boys 300m hurdles 3rd Jake Eby VV 42.1, 5th Jarod Krickenbarger TVS 43.5. Girls 800m run 3rd Christina Garner VV 2:38.5, 5th Katie Glander TVS 2:43.70, 6th Beth Bambeck TVS 2:45.6. Boys 800m run 4 Steve Taulbee TVS 2:10.0.

Girls 200m dash 3rd Jennifer Bambeck TVS 27.80, 4th Kendra Dickey VV 27.90. 6th Emily Salyer VV 28.1. Boys 200m dash 2nd Joe Maleski TVS 22.90, 4th Ben Anspaugh TVS 23.5. Girls 3200m run 2nd Abbey Schlater TCN 12:54.2 6th Sarah Holland VV 13:59.4. Boys 3200m run 3rd Nathan Wirrig TCN 10:32.1, 5th Jimmy Rowland VV 10:48.1

Girls discus: 2nd Kait Ervin TVS 104-07, 3rd Katie Chaney PS 93-07.50,4th Valerie Johnson PS 92-04. Boys discus: 6th Sean Lefeld TCN 123-07. Girls High Jump: 2nd Michelle Jackson PS 4-09.0, 4 Molly Kroger VV 4-06, 6 Shelly Seibel TCN 4-06, 6 Katelyn Koble VV 4-06. Boys High Jump: 3rd Nick Bryant VV 5-08, 3rd Drew Heindl TCN 5-08, 6th Evan Clark VV 5-04,6th Brandon McAdams TCN 5-04

Girls long jump 5th Sarah Tipton VV 15-04.5. Boys long jump 5th Drew Helndl TCN 19-01, 6th Lee Turck VV 18-07. Girls Shot: 2nd Kait Ervin TVS 34-02.5. 4th Valerie Johnson PS 30-08, 5th Tabitha Nies TVS 29-03. boys shot: 6th Steven Bierly TCN 44-06. Girls Pole Vault 2nd Kylee Dickey VV 8-00, 5th Ashley Molina TCN 7-06, 6th Lindsey Voge TVS 6-06. Boys Pole Vault 2nd Dylan Dudley TCN 11-06 3rd Steven Bierly TCN 11-00, 4th Jarod Krickenbarger TVS 11-00, 6th Michael Miller VV 10-06.

Girls Triple Jump: 3rd Emily Amburgey PS 28-06, 4th Emily Salyer VV 27-03, 5th Alexis Jorgenson TVS 27-00.5. Boys Triple Jump: 2nd Jarod Krickenbarger TVS 36-09, 3rd Steven Bierly TCN 35-06.5, 4th Steven Hale PS 35-04, 5th Lee Turck VV 35-01.75. Comments

email: Chris Tilton


















Default Template for Easy Text To HTML Converter